Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Margaret Atwood

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 2008

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2008 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, made up of Mr. Andrés Amorós, Mr. Luis María Anson, Mr. J. J. Armas Marcelo, Ms. Blanca Berasátegui, Ms. María Luisa Blanco, Ms. Carmen Caffarel, Mr. Pedro Casals, Mr. Antonio Colinas, Mr. Francisco Javier Fernández Vallina, Ms. Laura García Lorca, Mr. José Luis García Martín, Ms. Pilar García Mouton, Ms. Olvido García Valdés, Mr. Emilio González Ferrín, Mr. Manuel Llorente, Mr. Jacobo Fitz-James Stuart y Martínez de Irujo, Ms. Rosa Navarro Durán, Ms. Berta Piñán, Mr. Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente, Mr. Fernando Sánchez Dragó, Mr. Darío Villanueva, chaired by D. Víctor García de la Concha and with D. Román Suárez Blanco as secretary, has decided to bestow the 2008 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters on Margaret Atwood for her outstanding literary work that has explored different genres with acuteness and irony, and because she cleverly assumes the classic tradition, defends women´s dignity and denounces social unfairness.

Oviedo, 25th June 2008

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades